George Peper, editor-in-chief of “Golf Magazine” for a quarter of a century and author of 17 books on golf and golf courses, has been chosen to receive the 2008 Donald Ross Award from the American Society of Golf Course Architects (ASGCA). He will accept the award during ASGCA’s 62nd Annual Meeting, on April 3, 2008 in St. Andrews, Scotland.

The award is given annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to golf and golf course architecture. President Steve Forrest, ASGCA will present the award to Peper at the group’s Donald Ross Banquet at the Rusacks Hotel in St. Andrews.

“George Peper is one of the most knowledgeable voices in golf, respected for his prolific journalistic and publishing career and his respect for and knowledge of golf courses,” notes Forrest. “He continues as editor-at-large for ‘Links’ Magazine and lives in St. Andrews. I will be honored to present this award to a man who has devoted his career to understanding and promoting golf and golf courses.”

Long Career in Golf and Golf Publishing
Peper is a graduate of Princeton University, and went on to study for his Ph.D. in comparative literature at Yale University. He left that program to join the staff of “Golf Magazine.” Under his stewardship, the magazine became the most widely-read in the industry and began publishing the first “Top 100 Golf Courses in the World” lists. While there, he also published a number of books on the game, including “The World’s 500 Greatest Golf Holes,” “Golf Courses of the PGA Tour,” “Golf in America” and most recently “Two Years in St. Andrews: At Home on the 18th Hole.”

Peper is a member of five clubs in Scotland, including the Royal & Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, where he is the first American on the Club Committee. His “The Need System” was adopted by the USGA as the recommended method for allocating handicap strokes across 18 holes, and he has worked with clubs worldwide on pace of play. He is also a partner in Golf Magazine China Consulting, which matches golf architects with development projects in China.

The Donald Ross Award was established by the ASGCA Board of Governors in 1976 and is given annually to an individual who has made a positive impact on golf and golf course architecture. Its first recipient was one of ASGCA’s Founding Fathers, Robert Trent Jones. ASGCA’s Donald Ross Award Committee is led by Past President Rees Jones, ASGCA.

Peper will be the 33rd winner of the Donald Ross Award.


Editor’s Note: A photo of George Peper is available upon request.


Previous Donald Ross Award Recipients

Year Recipient Occupation


































George Pepper

Dr. Michael Hurdzan

Jim Awtrey

John Singleton

Thomas Cousins

Bill Campbell

Byron Nelson

Jack Nicklaus

Jaime Ortiz-Patiño

Arnold Palmer

Judy Bell

Gene Sarazen

Ron Whitten

Pete Dye

James R. Watson

Brent Wadsworth

Paul Fullmer

Michael Bonallack

John Zoller

Dick Taylor

Frank Hannigan

Charles Price

Deane Beman

Peter Dobereiner

Dinah Shore

Al Radko

Geoffrey Cornish

James Rhodes

Gerald Micklem

Joe Dey

Herb and Joe Graffis

Herbert Warren

Robert Trent Jones

Golf Writer

Golf Course Architect

CEO, PGA of America

Irrigation Pioneer

Philanthropist; Urban Golf Developer

President, USGA; Captain, Royal & Ancient Golf Club

Professional Golfer

Professional Golfer; Golf Course Architect

Owner and President, Valderrama Golf Club

Professional Golfer

President, USGA

Professional Golfer

Golf Writer

Golf Course Architect


Golf Course Builder

ASGCA Executive Secretary

Secretary, Royal and Ancient (St. Andrews)

Former Executive Director, No. California Golf Association

Editor, Golf World Magazine

Executive Director, USGA

Golf World Magazine

PGA Tour Commissioner

London Observer Columnist; Author

Sponsor of Women’s Golf Tournaments

Former Director, USGA Green Section

Golf Course Architect; Historian

Governor of Ohio

Former Captain, Royal and Ancient

Former Executive Director of the USGA

Founders, National Golf Foundation

Wind Golf Digest Columnist; Author

Founding Member of ASGCA


ASGCA Background
Founded in 1946 by 14 leading architects, including Donald Ross and Robert Trent Jones, Sr., the American Society of Golf Course Architects is a non-profit organization comprised of 180 golf course designers located throughout the United States and Canada. Members are actively involved in the design of new courses, the renovation of existing layouts, and issues affecting the future of the game.

Media Contact
Aileen Smith
American Society of Golf Course Architects (ASGCA)
125 N. Executive Dr., Suite 106
Brookfield, WI 53005
262-786-5960 | 262-786-5919 (FAX)