Bradley S. Klein, “Golfweek” magazine’s architecture editor, has been selected by the American Society of Golf Course Architects (ASGCA) as the 2015 Donald Ross Award recipient, the 40th winner since the award was introduced in 1976. The award will be presented in March 2015 during the 69th ASGCA Annual Meeting in La Jolla, California. 

The award is named for ASGCA’s first president, and is presented to an individual who has made a positive contribution to golf and golf course architecture.

A former PGA Tour caddie and 2006 inductee into the International Caddie Hall of Fame, Klein has written and lectured widely on golf course design, the golf development industry and sports media. The New York native joined “Golfweek” in 1988.

Klein holds a Ph.D. in political science, spending 14 years as a university professor in international relations, political theory and media studies before devoting himself full time to golf writing. He has published seven books on golf course architecture and history, including “Discovering Donald Ross,” winner of the USGA 2001 International Book Award, and “Wide Open Fairways.”

Klein joins an impressive list of journalists who have received the Ross Award, including Herbert Warren Wind, Peter Dobereiner, Charles Price, Dick Taylor, Ron Whitten, George Peper, and James Dodson.

“Brad has traveled the world studying and reporting on golf course architecture,” ASGCA President Lee Schmidt said. “His articles and books have informed golfers and non-golfers alike, telling the story of courses and those who design them.

“His critiques keep architecture in the public eye, and start conversations about how design contributes so much to the essence of the game. ASGCA respects his knowledge and perspective. We appreciate his skill in describing what we do and all that golf courses bring to our communities.”

Klein and his wife, Professor Jane Nadel-Klein, live in Bloomfield, Connecticut.

The Donald Ross Award is presented by the ASGCA Awards Committee, co-chaired by ASGCA Vice President Steve Smyers and 2013 Ross Award recipient Rees Jones, ASGCA. For more information on ASGCA, visit, call (262) 786-5960 or e-mail

Past Donald Ross Award Recipients

2014    Maj. Dan Rooney, founder, Folds of Honor Foundation
2013    Rees Jones, ASGCA, golf course architect
2012    Bill Kubly, golf course builder
2011    James Dodson, golf writer/editor
2010    Tim Finchem, PGA Tour Commissioner
2009    Ron Dodson, sustainable golf advocate
2008    George Peper, golf writer
2007    Dr. Michael Hurdzan, ASGCA, golf course architect
2006    Jim Awtrey, chief executive officer, PGA of America
2005    John Singleton, irrigation pioneer
2004    Thomas Cousins, philanthropist, urban golf developer
2003    Bill Campbell, president, USGA, captain, Royal & Ancient Golf Club
2002    Byron Nelson, professional golfer
2001    Jack Nicklaus, ASGCA, professional golfer, golf course architect
2000    Jaime Ortiz-Patino, owner and president, Valderrama Golf Club
1999    Arnold Palmer, professional golfer
1998    Judy Bell, president, USGA
1997    Gene Sarazen, professional golfer
1996    Ron Whitten, golf writer
1995    Pete Dye, ASGCA, golf course architect
1994    James R. Watson, agronomist
1993    Brent Wadsworth, golf course builder
1992    Paul Fullmer, ASGCA executive secretary
1991    Michael Bonallack, secretary, Royal & Ancient Golf Club
1990    John Zoller, executive director, Northern California Golf Association
1989    Dick Taylor, editor, “Golf World” magazine
1988    Frank Hannigan, executive director, USGA
1987    Charles Price, writer, “Golf World” magazine
1986    Deane Beman, commissioner, PGA Tour
1985    Peter Dobereiner, “London Observer” columnist, author
1984    Dinah Shore, sponsor of women’s golf tournaments
1983    Al Radko, director, USGA Green Section
1982    Geoffrey Cornish, ASGCA, golf course architect, historian
1981    James Rhodes, governor of Ohio
1980    Gerald Micklem, captain, Royal & Ancient
1979    Joe Dey, executive director, USGA
1978    Herb and Joe Graffis, founders, National Golf Foundation
1977    Herbert Warren Wind, “The New Yorker” columnist, author
1976    Robert Trent Jones, ASGCA, ASGCA founding member

ASGCA Background

 Founded in 1946 by Donald Ross, Robert Trent Jones and 12 other leading architects, the American Society of Golf Course Architects is a non-profit organization comprised of experienced golf course designers located throughout the United States and Canada. Members have completed a rigorous two-year long application process that includes the peer review of four representative golf courses. ASGCA members are experienced golf course architects, able to counsel in all aspects of golf course design and remodeling and comprise many of the great talents throughout the golf industry.

 # # #