Michael Bamberger – a senior writer for Sports Illustrated and author of several books on golf – has been chosen by the American Society of Golf Course Architects (ASGCA) as the 2016 recipient of the Donald Ross Award. The award, given annually since 1976, is presented to a person who has made a significant contribution to the game of golf and the profession of golf course architecture. It will be presented to Bamberger at the 2016 ASGCA Annual Meeting on April 24 in Bethesda, Maryland.

“Almost every golf fan over the past 30 years has read and been impacted by Michael’s writing, in newspapers, on the pages of Sports Illustrated, on the web or in his books,” said President Steve Smyers, ASGCA. “He brings his readers to the places they want to go – from major championships to traveling along on the European Tour – and shows them unique views of the golf world they might not otherwise experience. Michael’s keen observations about the game provide the casual golfer a greater understanding of the art of the game.

“We’re thrilled a writer of Michael’s caliber is devoting his talent to keeping the game front and center among sports fans,” he continued. “ASGCA respects his knowledge and perspective, and appreciates how his efforts benefit the game of golf.”

Bamberger grew up in Patchogue, New York, and was introduced to golf in an eighth-grade gym class. He first played on the public courses of Suffolk County and on the Patchogue-Medford High School golf team. After graduating from the University of Pennsylvania he became a newspaper reporter, working for the Vineyard Gazette, on Martha’s Vineyard, and later for the Philadelphia Inquirer. Since 1995, Bamberger has been a senior writer at Sports Illustrated. He also contributes regularly to golf.com and writes a back-page column for Golf magazine.

His books on golf include “The Green Road Home” (1986), about his experiences as a caddie on the PGA Tour in 1985; “To the Linksland” (1992), about an extended honeymoon trip Bamberger and his wife, Christine, made on the European golf tour and through coastal Scotland; and “Men in Green” (2015), a then-and-now look at various golf legends from the 1970s. He is the inventor of The E-Club, a utility golf club for which he was issued a U.S. patent.

Bamberger joins an impressive list of journalists who have received the Donald Ross Award, including Herbert Warren Wind, Peter Dobereiner, Charles Price, Dick Taylor, Ron Whitten, George Peper, James Dodson and Bradley S. Klein.

Bamberger lives in Philadelphia, with his wife Christine, and their children, Ian and Alina.

The Donald Ross Award is presented by the ASGCA Awards Committee, co-chaired by ASGCA President Steve Smyers and 2013 Ross Award recipient Rees Jones, ASGCA. For more information on ASGCA, visit www.asgca.org, call (262) 786-5960 or e-mail info@asgca.org.

Past Donald Ross Award Recipients

2015    Bradley S. Klein, golf writer

2014    Maj. Dan Rooney, founder, Folds of Honor Foundation

2013    Rees Jones, ASGCA, golf course architect

2012    Bill Kubly, golf course builder

2011    James Dodson, golf writer/editor

2010    Tim Finchem, PGA Tour Commissioner

2009    Ron Dodson, sustainable golf advocate
2008    George Peper, golf writer

2007    Dr. Michael Hurdzan, ASGCA, golf course architect

2006    Jim Awtrey, chief executive officer, PGA of America

2005    John Singleton, irrigation pioneer

2004    Thomas Cousins, philanthropist, urban golf developer

2003    Bill Campbell, president, USGA, captain, Royal & Ancient Golf Club

2002    Byron Nelson, professional golfer

2001    Jack Nicklaus, ASGCA, professional golfer, golf course architect

2000    Jaime Ortiz-Patino, owner and president, Valderrama Golf Club

1999    Arnold Palmer, professional golfer

1998    Judy Bell, president, USGA

1997    Gene Sarazen, professional golfer

1996    Ron Whitten, golf writer

1995    Pete Dye, ASGCA, golf course architect

1994    James R. Watson, agronomist

1993    Brent Wadsworth, golf course builder

1992    Paul Fullmer, ASGCA executive secretary

1991    Michael Bonallack, secretary, Royal & Ancient Golf Club

1990    John Zoller, executive director, Northern California Golf Association

1989    Dick Taylor, editor, “Golf World” magazine

1988    Frank Hannigan, executive director, USGA

1987    Charles Price, writer, “Golf World” magazine

1986    Deane Beman, commissioner, PGA Tour

1985    Peter Dobereiner, “London Observer” columnist, author

1984    Dinah Shore, sponsor of women’s golf tournaments

1983    Al Radko, director, USGA Green Section

1982    Geoffrey Cornish, ASGCA, golf course architect, historian

1981    James Rhodes, governor of Ohio

1980    Gerald Micklem, captain, Royal & Ancient

1979    Joe Dey, executive director, USGA

1978    Herb and Joe Graffis, founders, National Golf Foundation

1977    Herbert Warren Wind, “The New Yorker” columnist, author

1976      Robert Trent Jones, ASGCA, ASGCA founding member