Pete Dye, ASGCA Fellow and Past President, has been elected to the World Golf Hall of Fame in the prestigious Lifetime Achievement category. Dye was inducted to the Hall on Nov. 10 as part of the Class of 2008.


Pete Dye, ASGCA Fellow

“I am surprised and extremely honored to be inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame and to be inducted with those who have contributed to the game I love,” Dye said.

A winner of the 1995 Donald Ross Award, Dye is only the fifth inductee whose primary contributions to the game were made as a golf course architect, joining legendary designers Donald Ross, C.B. Macdonald, Alister Mackenzie and Robert Trent Jones Sr. Dye’s courses are amongst the most celebrated in the world and have hosted several major championships, the Ryder Cup and numerous PGA and LPGA
tour events.

His work includes such famed courses as Blackwolf Run (Wis.), Crooked Stick (Ind.), the Ocean Course at Kiawah Island (S.C.), PGA West at LaQuinta (Calif.), The Players Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass (Fla.) and Whistling Straits (Wis.).

For more information about Pete Dye and his courses, please visit


ASGCA Background
Founded in 1946 by 14 leading architects, including Donald Ross and Robert Trent Jones, Sr., the American Society of Golf Course Architects is a non-profit organization comprised of 180 golf course designers located throughout the United States and Canada. Members are actively involved in the design of new courses, the renovation of existing layouts, and issues affecting the future of the game.

Media Contact
Aileen Smith
American Society of Golf Course Architects (ASGCA)
125 N. Executive Dr., Suite 106
Brookfield, WI 53005
262-786-5960 | 262-786-5919 (FAX)